lsregister

Reset the Launch Services database.

Syntax
      lsregister: [Options] [path...]
                     [-apps domain[,domain]...]
                       [-libs domain[,domain]...]
                           [-all  domain[,domain]...]

Options
   -kill     Reset the Launch Services database before doing anything else
-seed If database isn't seeded, scan default locations for applications and libraries to register
-lint Print information about plist errors while registering bundles
-convert Register apps found in older LS database files
-lazy n Sleep for n seconds before registering/scanning
-r Recursive directory scan, do not recurse into packages or invisible directories
-R Recursive directory scan, descending into packages and invisible directories
-f force-update registration even if mod date is unchanged
-u unregister instead of register
-v Display progress information
-dump Display full database contents after registration
-h Display help

Valid domains are "system", "local", "network" and "user". Domains can also be specified using only the first letter.

Paths are searched for applications to register with the Launch Service database.

The Launch Service database controls the Finder's 'Open With' right click, contextual menu.
lsregister is not on the system path so run it using the full path as below.

After running lsregister to rescan the database, run killall Finder to reload the Finder's “Open With” Menu.

Examples

Run lsregister and display help

/System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Versions/A/Support/lsregister
Create an alias 'lsr' for lsregister

alias lsr='/System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Versions/A/Support/lsregister

Using the above alias:

Reset the local & user domains:
lsr -kill -r -domain local -domain user

Reset the local, user and system domains:
lsr -kill -r -domain local -domain user -domain system

Resetting the system will also reset the first-launch security prompt: the first time you launch an application by opening a document, the system will ask 'are you sure'.
This is equivalent to deleting the Launch services plist:
~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.LaunchServices.plist

“Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do” ~ Apple Advert

Related:

Onyx utility - Includes a maintenance script to rebuild the Launch Services.
Article: TA24770 - Clear the 10.4 Finder "Open With" contextual menu.


© Copyright SS64.com 1999-2016
Some rights reserved